CCN is a member-led organisation and works on an inclusive and all-party basis. CCN recognises that member authorities must have the right to respond to their communities in different ways and seeks to make representations to government on behalf of all its member councils. CCN is a Special Interest group of the Local Government Association (LGA).

The below diagram provides an overview of CCN’s Governance.

Management Committee

Is the elected body of the CCN chairman and vice-chairs. Political groups on CCN undertake internal election to propose group leaders and deputies and positions can be held for four years. The largest group annually propose a candidate for chairman. The current balance is 64.3% Conservative, 14.3% Labour, 13% Liberal Democrat, 8.4% Independent. Management Committee proposes the annual budget, business plan and audited accounts for approval by CCN Council and oversee all aspects of CCN day-to-day business.

Click through to see biographies of our management committee members.

CCN Chairman (Conservative)

Cllr David Williams - Leader, Hertfordshire County Council

Vice Chair (Conservative)

Cllr Nick Rushton - Leader, Leicestershire County Council

Vice Chair (Labour)

Cllr Simon Henig - Leader, Durham County Council

Vice Chair (Lib Dem)

Cllr Jerry Roodhouse - Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group, Warwickshire County Council


The Executive consists of Management Committee members and 10 spokespeople. The primary function of executive is to advise management committee on the annual budget, work programme and overall direction of CCN, with spokespeople allocated to specific policy areas to lead the delivery of the CCN work business plan and work programme. This executive meets five times a year.

The overall balance of membership of the CCN Executive will be politically proportionate in line with the total political balance of CCN authorities; the current balance is Conservative 9, Labour 2, Liberal Democrat 2, Independent 1.

Click through to see more about their areas of responsibilities and biographies of our executive members.

Children & Young People

Cllr Keith Glazier - (Con) Leader, East Sussex

Transport & Infrastructure

Cllr Stephen Giles-Medhurst - (Lib Dem), Hertfordshire

Housing & Planning

Cllr Phillip Atkins - (Con) Leader, Staffordshire


Cllr Carl Les - (Con) Leader, North Yorkshire


Cllr Martin Hill - (Con) Leader, Lincolnshire

Communities & Environment

Cllr Sam Corcoran - (Lab) Leader, Cheshire East

Unitary / Parliamentary

Baroness Jane Scott, (Con) Wiltshire

Economic Growth & Industrial Strategy

Cllr Barry Lewis - (Con) Leader,

Health & Social Care

Cllr David Fothergill - (Con) Leader, Somerset


Cllr Julian German - (Ind) Leader, Cornwall

CCN Council

Each of our member authorities nominates up to four elected members to serve on the CCN Council. Top up places are used to ensure political proportionality using the LGA Rallings and Thrasher model for county authorities. Council approve the annual budget, business plan and audited accounts.

Meeting dates for the Executive & CCN Council in 2020 are:

Council followed by CCN Executive:  28th January, Smith Square

Council  followed by CCN Executive: 25th March, Smith Square

Council followed by CCN Executive:  20th May, Smith Square

Executive:   30th June, LGA Conference (Harrogate)

AGM & Council: 17th September, Smith Square